Afghan Players Nominated For Major Cricket Award

Mohammad Shahzad and Samiullah Shinwari

On October 6th of this year, the International Cricket Council (ICC), in association with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA), will hold the prestigious 2010 LG ICC Awards ceremony in Bangalore, India. Awards will be given out in various different categories.  In the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year category, two members of Afghanistan’s national cricket team have been nominated – Batsman Mohammad Shahzad and Middle-Order Batsman and Spin Bowler Samiullah Shinwari.  This is the first time that an Afghan cricket player has been nominated for an ICC award.

The other nominees are: Ashish Bagai (Canada), Richie Berrington (Scotland), Muddassar Bukhari (Scotland), Tom Cooper (Netherlands), Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands), Trent Johnston (Ireland), Kevin O’Brien (Ireland),and Paul Stirling (Ireland).

The nominations were made by a five-man ICC selection panel.  It was chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee, Clive Lloyd.  The winner of the award will be selected by a group of 25 cricket personalities (former players, members of the media, and representatives of the elite panels of ICC umpires and referees) from around the world.

August 20, 2010 · admin · No Comments
Posted in: Afghan Sports News

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.